Operation Cast Blame

Lots of hay has been made over the recent Aurora shooting.  By which I mean speculation about the motivation of the shooter and who will take the blame for this particular nutbar’s actions.  Matt Welch over at Reason has a good roundup here of the initial speculation coming out of the boys in the PR department.  The boys in the legal department point the finger at medical schools, but I suspect that’s just because, having gone to law school, they’re jealous that M.D.’s are called “doctor” and J.D.’s aren’t.

I’ve always noted a trend in humans to seek some easily recognizable someone(s) or thing(s) to blame for their problems, so to some degree this shouldn’t be a surprise.  (I also note a sense of uniqueness about how smart I am in that last sentence–the implication being that no one else has ever noticed this.  But that’s another post.)  I am, however, somewhat concerned that it’s now becoming a cart-before-the-horse scenario.  Instead of responding by taking care of immediate needs and concerns, we immediately wonder if we are going to be blamed for this, or whether we can put the blame on some other someones, preferably someone with a completely opposite view of things.  I don’t know if it’s a matter of distance, the 24-hour news cycle, vicious politics, or just whether civilization has been doing this for centuries and I’ve been too wrapped up in myself to notice.

At any rate, I think I’m going to load up the kindle with some cheesy fantasy novels (you’re welcome for the plug, John) that I’ve been meaning to read and avoid news and politics for a while.  If the world ends this next week, don’t bother to wake me up.

About VPJ
Not particularly smart, witty, or good-looking. Otherwise perfect.

Comments are closed.

